Patreon rewards, a dash of Bloodborne, and a pinch of John Woo

It’s been fun working on the common reward for Blast Back that Patreon supporters will have access to; a by-chapter, Ultimania-like design diary has been great for solidifying some ideas that otherwise seem like passing thoughts, and some slightly more in-depth looks at concepts might be up a few peoples’ alley. now that I have officially begun submitting things with Patreon, it’s been interesting, a new step into what I love doing.Blast Back itself will, of course, continue, and I might get into writing the next mission of DmC -Stairway to Heaven- for shiggles. It’s fun to write something so outlandish and over-the-top, easy to see why the “rule of cool” is so much fun to abide by.

~

I was a bit late to catch the Bloodborne train (exacerbated by it taking a long time for my copy to hit my doorstep), but I’ve still embraced that heavy-handed lover, taking its strikes with a “Thank you sir, may I have another!” It’s a very intoxicating experience. I loved the Souls games for their dungeon crawler-like tone, and that mysterious story. Bloodborne is different in all the ways that it’s the same, and the story just slowly creeps up on you. I’m not one for Lovecraft, but goddamn if I didn’t dig the Lovecraftian elements that slowly emerged as the game progressed. My only disappointment was that the Burial Blade, the game’s scythe weapon, was unattainable until I had gotten to the point of almost finishing the game.

Bloodborne Burial Blade Trailer

That is mine!” ~Me, the moment I saw this in the trailer

Luckily, New Game+ is a glorious, glorious thing. The game’s speed of combat is enjoyable too. I loved my sword and shield combat in Dark Souls: blocking attacks, kicking shields away and slicing at ghouls, but I’d love to see how they implement Bloodborne‘s pace into that more medieval-style warfare, dashing about and trading blows, only to rally back that lost vitality.

Also, John Woo’s classic, melodramatic masterpiece The Killer is on Netflix now. If you haven’t seen it, definitely give it a watch. It’s a great flick, and stuff like this happens in it…

The Killer Church Shootout

I mean, c’mon, you’d be doing yourself a disservice by not watching it. Out of all of Woo’s movies that I have seen, this one sort of epitomized my understanding of the Heroic Bloodshed concept. This would be Woo’s last movie where he “romanticized” Triad culture, and maybe that’s for the best, because Hard Boiled was fantastic, but The Killer has all of what I love about John Woo’s work in spades: that perfect blend of high action and drama – one doesn’t need to exist in place of another. We can have both!

Anyway, back to the grindstone. Until the next post, Keep Yourself Alive!

About jbsargent

Writer. Artist. All around charming lad.

Posted on May 19, 2015, in What's New? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I enjoyed Bloodborne too. I prefer its combat to the shield turtling found in the Souls games.

Say somethin'!

