Standing on that New Horizon

Well, here I am! It’s been about a minute, hasn’t it?

Coovie Town

I’ve spent a lot of time here in Vancouver getting used to the place, so I haven’t been able to sit back and post a lot. I arrived on August 19th, and I started classes at university a few weeks ago, so homework has been priority one over the blarg itself. However, with what work I do in my Creative Writing class I’m thinking I’ll post up here in my Creative Archive so you can all have a peek at the random stuff that plops out onto my head. It’s funny though, because being self-taught by so much throughout the years has me surprised by how much I really did know from the beginning of class. Granted, it’s not as if I intimately know every detail of what would make me the best I can be, nor would I be comfortable thinking that way, but it’s comforting to know that I was doing things halfway right this whole time. As my father says, “I screwed up good, didn’t I?”

Spending a lot of time with My Gal Friday, and loving Yaletown where she lives. The skytrain system is pretty neat, and buses are…well…buses. Walking about is great for exercise, and it’s something I couldn’t really do to get around back in my hometown – everything was too spread out most of the time, and “transit” wasn’t really a thing I had access to. I hear it’s getting colder back home, with snow on the way, and I’m just surprised to be enjoying some pretty decent autumn weather here in Coovie Town. It’ll be great to not have to worry about knee-high snow banks for a change.

The flights were okay, and thanks to a tailwind, it shaved an hour off my gripping the arms of my seat for dear life. Even got to see Amazing Spider-Man 2 again on the flight. Getting through immigration took quite a bit of time, and never again do I want to travel using bags without wheels of some sort! My shoulder and hands were killing me with putting down and picking up bags all day. However, what’s done is done, so now I can focus on my studies, and trying to find a job to subsist on.

I’ve been blessed with a great support net of family and friends, so I’m truly grateful, and I have even begun to make acquaintances! This place is big and it’s gonna take a while to get used to it, as I came from such a boring little town, but I’m totally up for it. As a friend of mine always says, “I got this”.

Hopefully, I can get to jotting down my work and get into working on the next chapter of Blast Back soon, because I can’t stay away from that world for too long. There’s so much I want to get to with it!

Anyway, back to the world I go! Until the next post, Keep Yourself Alive!

About jbsargent

Writer. Artist. All around charming lad.

Posted on September 14, 2014, in What's New? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Say somethin'!

