Something New This Way Comes

So, it’s been a little bit longer than I had anticipated. Partly because the holiday was hectic, partly with my father’s shoulder surgery requiring me to look after him for a little while, and partly because things like Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn have sucked me in. Speaking of, if you’re a fan of the game, definitely check out Husky by the Geek‘s rock covers of the Dungeon Boss themeTitan’s theme, Garuda’s theme, and FATE Boss/Ultima’s theme.

They’re like this, but in face-melting rock form

Anyway! I’ve been getting back into the groove more since the holidays have concluded, and that means getting my nose back to the…uh…well, I don’t have a grindstone, so…keyboard? Sure!

So I’m back to writing much more seriously than the here ‘n’ there I was over the festivities, and one thing that I haven’t really mentioned before that I’ve been working on in a very here ‘n’ there fashion was an episodic fanfic for DmC: Devil May Cry. No, it’s not some mary sue-laden, self-insertion, slash-fic extravaganza, but an honest-to-goodness expanded universe fiction of where I think the narrative could go. With my love for the franchise and in particular Ninja Theory’s re-imagining, when I was stumped on what to do next in my current project, I’d keep my hands typing by working on DmC: Devil May Cry -Stairway to Heaven-. Give that link a click if you’re at all interested.

Along those same lines, I found myself enjoying writing up something episodic, something that had some slightly more immediate results for the reader aside from what I’m doing now with Situation-0, since that’s a novel on its own that won’t be released for some time. I had been kicking an idea around in my head for a little while, and since it kept consuming my idle thoughts I figured I should work on it, and so I’ve decided that when I’m not working on Sit-0 I’ll be focusing on releasing chapters episodically, hosted here on my blarg, for a new story that readers can follow along with – for free.

Lionhead Corps Concept 1
This is the one piece of concept art I’ve gotten out of my head from over the holidays

The new story is Blast Back, and you can check it out by following that link. I’ve been sort of excited about it, because it also gives me a chance to tackle more high-fantasy roots than the contemporary fantasy that is Situation-0. If you’re a fan of fantasy, action, adventure, dungeonpunk (think Final Fantasy VI), and just a little bit of time travel shenanigans; and have been looking for something new to read, this might be right up your alley! Be sure to check back as I’ll be announcing when chapters start goin’ up. As it gets closer to release, I probably make a larger post just for talking about it.

All in all, it’s been an okay holiday, had a great time with family and friends, and managed to come up with some enjoyable ideas I can’t wait to execute. Hope everyone is doing well, and until next post, Keep Yourself Alive!

About jbsargent

Writer. Artist. All around charming lad.

Posted on January 16, 2014, in What's New?, What's to Come and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Say somethin'!

