Solidifying Design

In creating a cover for this book, I have to sift through all the concept artwork I had developed for the characters, and certain props. This brought about a great sense of dread in me, realizing that however I design these characters that will appear on the cover, it solidifies their design in the readers’ minds.

I’m awash with perfectionism at this point. I have to make sure each one of the characters is depicted the way I at least had always seen them. This is what I get for deciding to show characters on the cover, instead of being like a myriad of other authors that make the title and their name stand out prominently on the front.

With me, however, nothing can ever be simple. It always has to be something that will catch the eye, and it usually means much more work. Some refer to that as “biting off more than you can chew,” I say it’s expanding your skill set. How will you ever know how far you can go, unless you push your limits?

So, I forego the good ol’ “name and title” shtick, and instead strive for imagery of what lies therein. I guess it’s more about the theatricality at that point. This is what happens when you come from a background of video games and television (animated or otherwise); you think the characters are the most important thing to be displayed on your cover :p

About jbsargent

Writer. Artist. All around charming lad.

Posted on February 1, 2012, in What's New? and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I see were your coming from. I think the cover shouod only have the characters on it if thier image is already solidified by another from of media. Be it video games or movies. Letting the reader come up with their own image of the character against the backdrop you provide is half.the experience of reading a great story.

Say somethin'!

